Explore
+00:00 GMT
Sign in or Join the community to continue

Deciphering the Complexity of Biological Neural Networks

Posted Feb 13, 2024 | Views 10.5K
speaker
Anton Maximov
Professor @ Scripps Research Institute

My laboratory at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) is dedicated to understanding how neurons in the mammalian brain form their synaptic networks, and how these networks are reorganized during memory encoding. We approach these questions using mouse genetics, deep sequencing, biochemistry, optical imaging, three-dimensional electron microscopy (3D-EM), electrophysiology, and behavioral studies. Additionally, we are developing new methods to access and manipulate specific neuron types in brains of model organisms with small molecules, as well as methods for AI-based analysis of brain structures in 3D-EM volumes. I have been studying neural circuits for over 20 years, as a postdoctoral fellow and as an independent NIH-funded investigator. I have successfully mentored many young scientists, several of whom now hold faculty and postdoc positions at other universities, serve as medical doctors, or work in biotech companies. My group is part of the vibrant and collaborative local neuroscience community, which includes investigators from TSRI, UCSD, and the Salk Institute.

+ Read More
SUMMARY