Explore
+00:00 GMT
Sign in or Join the community to continue

Weak to Strong Generalization

Posted Feb 26, 2024 | Views 7.1K
speakers
Collin Burns
Superalignment Researcher @ OpenAI

Collin is a researcher at OpenAI working on aligning superhuman models. Before joining OpenAI, he was a PhD student at Berkeley. His research interests include (1) studying extreme forms of "weak-to-strong" generalization, (2) developing unsupervised methods for making language models honest, and (3) understanding when and how high-level abstractions are encoded in representations.

+ Read More
Pavel Izmailov
Superalignment Researcher @ OpenAI

I am a Research Scientist in the OpenAI superalignment team, focusing on weak-to-strong generalization and interpretability. In 2023, I defended my PhD in Computer Science at NYU, under the supervision of Andrew Gordon Wilson. I am primarily interested in understanding and improving deep neural networks. In particular my interests include out-of-distribution generalization, AI alignment, reasoning, probabilistic deep learning, representation learning and other topics. Recently, our work on Bayesian model selection was recognized with an outstanding paper award at ICML 2022.

+ Read More
SUMMARY

Collin Burns and Pavel Izmailov present their research, Weak-to-Strong Generalization

+ Read More
TRANSCRIPT

For folks who I haven't met, my name is Logan Kilpatrick, I do developer relations at OpenAI, so really focused on trying to make developers successful who are building with our platform and get to be the recipient of all the important work that our research team does and help developers make use of that.

I know there's a bunch of folks from the developer ecosystem here today. Before we dive into the talk about superalignment with some of the folks from our research team, just wanted to quickly put in context OpenAI's mission.